Fishermead Boulevard, Milton Keynes,
Buckinghamshire, MK6 2LB

01908 257810

Jubilee Wood Primary School

Caring, Developing and Learning Together


Robins Class and Magpies Class welcome you to their page. Our children are the youngest at JW and love to come to school!

Early Years at Jubilee Wood

At Jubilee Wood we believe that the Early Years Foundation Stage is crucial to developing firm foundations to be built upon throughout our school journey and beyond. It is our belief that the children who enter our EYFS develop physically, verbally, emotionally, creatively, intellectually and spiritually whilst embedding a positive attitude to school and learning in order for each child to achieve their full potential. We set high expectations throughout all areas of school life and beyond and we believe that all children deserve to be valued as an individual, and we are passionate in supporting all children to achieve their full, unique potential.

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum covers seven ‘Areas of Learning’, consisting of three ‘Prime Areas’ (Personal Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language, Physical Development) and four ’Specific Areas’ (Mathematics, Literacy, Understanding The World, Expressive Arts and Design).  All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. The curriculum also develops the three key Characteristics of Effective Learning: playing, active learning, creating and thinking critically. These areas of learning and key characteristics are used to plan activities for the children based on their individual development, interest and learning needs.

The areas of learning are delivered through a combination of planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated independent activities, and some small group work. Learning takes place both in the classroom, the shared areas and outdoors. Each half term the planning is centred on topics and key texts and is interchanged according to the children’s interests. This enables us to develop skills and understanding in each of the seven areas.

Characteristics of Effective learning

The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment underpins learning and development across all areas. Playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically are key skills and aptitudes which help the child to become an effective and motivated learner.

The Foundation Curriculum map shows the 7 areas of learning within the Early Years Curriculum. This is what the children in Magpies and Robins will be learning over the next term and the books the children will be sharing and exploring each week. 

Below are the Autumn, Spring and Summer Term maps.

The Foundation overview shows in detail what the children in Magpies and Robins will be learning during each term across the year. The overview shows different themes/topics the children will be exploring and the specific Areas of learning which will be covered each week, including Mathematics- following the White Rose Maths scheme and Literacy- following Read Write Inc Phonics.

Below are the Autumn, Spring and Summer Term overviews.